About the event

The PhD Students' Council of the University of Warsaw kindly invites PhD candidates of the 4EU+ Alliance and all interested individuals to participate in the Doctoral Festival of Open Science (DFON).

What is the Doctoral Festival of Open Science? An event that aims to disseminate scientific studies of young researchers. It is also intended to introduce the world of science to people who are not involved in an academic daily basis, but who are passionate about acquiring knowledge. The speakers (who are currently in the course of doctoral education) will present their selected topic in an attractive as well as accessible way within 5-10 minutes.

The speeches are addressed to everyone who is interested in broadening the scientific horizons in the field of humanities, social sciences, exact and natural sciences and interdisciplinary, as well as to the university communities of the 4EU+ alliance, i.e. the European Union: University of Warsaw (Poland), Charles University (Czech Republic), Heidelberg University (Germany), Sorbonne University (France), University of Copenhagen (Denmark) and University of Milan (Italy).

The official languages of the event are Polish and English.

The festival will be held in virtual space (on the Google Meet platform) on 24th and 25th September, 2020. During the event we encourage you to ask questions and discuss with people speakers about their research. Each of the active participants will receive a certificate of participation in the event. For the best, we also provide small gifts. Participation in the event is free of charge.

Event date 24th September 2020 - 25thSeptember 2020
Deadline for submission of speeches: 15th September 2020
Deadline for acceptance of applications by the Scientific Committee: 22nd September 2020

Participation in the event is free of charge

The location of the festival
Videoconference realized using the Google Meet platform
Wideokonferencja realizowana za pomocą platformy Google Meet
Main room ( block sessions: Polish room lub English room )
Coffee breaks and networkings

The program of the event includes plenary lectures of the invited guests and speeches by PhD candidates in 4 thematic blocks:
Social Sciences
Exact and Natural Sciences

Speeches by the invited guests:
I. prof. dr hab. Joanna Jurewicz "Czy teksty starożytnych Indii cokolwiek nam mówią o nas samych?"
II. prof. dr hab. Bogdan Zawadzki "Zaburzenie stresowe pourazowe w dobie pandemii wirusa SARS-CoV-2"
III. prof. dr hab. Anna Gambin "Modelowanie epidemii COVID-19 w Polsce"
IV. dr hab. Jacek Pniewski "Zmiana klimatu - antropogeniczna czy naturalna?"

Registration and schedule

Active participation in the event
Please register by 15th September 2020

Registration form
Detail schedule
Abstract book

Scientific Committee

prof. dr hab. Robert Cieślak, Chair of The Academic Council of Communication and Media Studies
dr hab. Jarosław Czubaty, prof. UW, Chair of The Academic Council of History
prof. dr hab. Anna Gambin, Chair of The Academic Council of Mathematics and Computer and Information Sciences
dr hab. Miłosz Giersz, Vice-chair of The Academic Council of Archaeology
prof. dr hab. Anna Giza-Poleszczuk, Chair of The Academic Council of Sociology
prof. dr hab. Małgorzata Grzegorzewska, Chair of The Academic Council of Literary Studies
prof. dr hab. Zbigniew Izdebski, Chair of The Academic Council of Education
dr hab. Sylwia Kulczyk, prof. UW, Representative of The Academic Council of Social and Economic Geography, and Spatial Management
prof. dr hab. Paweł Kulesza, Chair of The Academic Council of Chemical Sciences
prof. dr hab. Janusz Kudła, Chair of The Academic Council of Economics and finances
prof. dr hab. Zygmunt Lalak, Vice-Rector for Research, Chair of The Academic Council of Physical Sciences
dr hab. Paweł Majewski, Representative of The Academic Council of Biological Sciences
prof. dr hab. Ewa Pisula, Chair of The Academic Council of Psychology
prof. dr hab. Małgorzata Tryuk, Chair of The Academic Council of Linguistics
dr hab. Łukasz Zamęcki, Representative of The Academic Council of Political Science and Public Administration, and Security Studies

Organising Committee

mgr Damian Michalik (Faculty of Physics)
mgr Natalia Greniewska (Faculty of Oriental Studies)
mgr Mikołaj Biesaga (The Robert Zajonc Institute for Social Studies)
mgr Michał Goszczyński (Office for Quality of Education)
mgr Agnieszka Łyś (Faculty of Psychology)
mgr Katarzyna Dombrowicz (Faculty of Oriental Studies)
mgr Damian Lodowski (Department of Geology)
mgr Justyna Sobolewska (Faculty of Management)
mgr Przemysław Decewicz (Faculty of Biology)
mgr Małgorzata Kuczara (Faculty of Management)


Adres e-mail: doktoranci@samorzad.uw.edu.pl

Zarząd Samorządu Doktorantów Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego
ul. Krakowskie Przedmieście 24, pok. 110 (I p.)
00-927 Warszawa
tel.: 22 55 20 189